The Davis School in Tucson, Arizona was erected in 1903, designed by Henry C. Trost independently of his firm Trost & Rust. The two-story building, completed in a eclectic blend of Spanish and Mission styles, stands today, however the original Trost design has been completely altered.
In April 1901, three Tucson School Board members Willliam Davis, Leonidas Holladay and Samuel Drachman met to consider the architectural drawings submitted by Henry Trost and the firm of Forbes & Nevins for 3 new schools. The Board moved and accepted that the schools would be named after them: Davis, Holladay and Drachman. There was some controversy over the decision to name the schools after themselves, however the decision stood. The plans of Trost were accepted for two of the schools, Holladay and Davis, while Forbes & Nevins drew the plans for Drachman.
For more information, please see the Arizona Memory Project’s archived book The First Hundred Years: The History of Tucson School District 1, by James F. Cooper, edited by John H. Fahr at https://azmemory.azlibrary.gov/digital/collection/asabooks/id/608/
Image courtesy of the Arizona Memory Project at the above link.
— Mark Stone
Construction Date: Jan 1, 1903
Address: 500 W St Marys Rd, Tucson, AZ, USA